New Post: Prep for a Twenty Mile Run

So, I think I’m ready for a hot, long run tomorrow morning.  Dallas, this summer, has offered up some of the hottest days in history to hit the streets and run.  If you’re in Dallas, I don’t have to tell you what the weather is going to be like.  I won’t waste time positing a pic of the weather app from my iPhone.  A true pet peeve for one of my running buddies, Anthony Logsdon.

But, for the heck of it I took a pic of my running nutrients to post today.  I stopped in at my trusted local running store to stock up on gels, beans and waffles.  

Dsc_0308

I’ve noticed over the years of long running that I really hate fueling up during a run.  It really doesn’t make sense, but I have the hardest time convincing myself to fuel my body during the thick of the run.  Something happens to my brain at about mile 4 when I’m usually feeling great.  I know I have another 16 miles to go, but I cannot imagine that I’ll ever feel bad.  “Surely, I can run forever,” I tell myself.  Therefore, I usually just take a quick sip of water and press on.  Around mile 15 I find myself wondering, “how on earth will I ever finish?”  

That was me.  A year ago, even two or three years ago.  This year has been different.  I’ve been working hard at taking in electrolytes and calories at regular intervals.  I have not perfected it yet, but I know it’s important to do.  Since I’m qualified clydesdale, according to most marathon officials, I burn more energy per minute than those shirtless, sub 8 min/mile stallions.  I lose more water, too.  I tested myself before and found that I lose a whopping 9 lbs. on 20+ mile days.  That is an entire gallon of water!  I cannot figure out how to put all that back during the run, but I’m trying to reduce the loss as well.  Don’t know if that is truly possible, but I believe extra calories during the run will certainly help.  

Over the last couple of long runs I’ve done much better at taking in supplements and water.  I can tell the difference in my ability to finish and recover.  

Here’s a quick glance at my replenishment plan for tomorrow morning:

1. One Honey Stinger Waffle about one hour before start
2. 1-2 Endurolytes capsules every other water stop
3. One Honey Stinger energy gel at alternating water stops (alternating from the Endurolytes capsules)
4. Jelly Belly Sport Beans – whenever needed to relieve boredom spells
5.  EAS Myoplex Shake (after the run recovery drink)

If I manage to consume this heavy diet of packaged nutrients (still highly unlikely), we’re talking over 900 calories.  Let’s compare that to the 3100+ cals I’ll burn and there’s little wonder why these runs are so tough.  But what’s not to love?  I get to hang out with a great group of people, laugh a whole lot, and challenge my body and mind.  I’m blessed!  Who cares about the heat?

About thehardrunner

Running, fitness and health enthusiast. Always looking for something funny. TheHardRunner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

